Preservation Support

With a Shared Shelf subscription, you can feel more securing knowing that preservation support is provided for your source files following the National Digital Stewardship Alliance's suggested guidelines. Shared Shelf currently provides eight of the nine "Level 1" digital preservation requirements to protect your data, and will soon provide full first-level compliance. Additional levels of preservations will be offered in the future.

Working Draft of the Levels of Digital Preservation Chart
  Level One
Storage and Geographic Location
  • Two complete copies that are not collocated
  • For data coming in on heterogeneous media (optical disks, hard drives, floppies) get the digital content off the medium and into your storage system
File Fixity and Data Integrity
  • Check fixity on ingest if it has been provided with the content (upcoming)
  • Create fixity info if it wasn't provided
Information Security
  • Identify who has read, write, move, and delete authorization to individual files 
  • Restrict who has those authorizations to individual files
  • Inventory of content and its storage location
  • Ensure backup and non-collocation of inventory
File Formats
  • Encourage use of limited set of known and open file formats and codecs