Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
The Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute has contributed more than 8,000 images of its permanent collection to the Artstor Digital Library.
The selection in Artstor highlights the museum’s rich holdings in works on paper—drawings, prints and photographs from the time of Dürer through the 20th century. Paintings, sculpture and decorative arts are also represented.
The Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute houses a permanent collection of more than 8,000 works, with a focus on European and American painting, sculpture, works on paper, and decorative arts from the Renaissance to the early 20th century. While best known for works by French Impressionists, especially Renoir, the collection also boasts strengths in Italian Renaissance paintings, English silver, European porcelain, and master drawings and prints.
In 1950, Sterling and Francine Clark chartered the Art Institute as a home for their extensive collection of paintings, silver, sculpture, porcelain, drawings, and prints. Because of strong ties to Williams College, the Clarks chose a site in Williamstown. Since it opened to public in 1955, the Institute has had a dual mission as both a museum and a center for research and higher education. Building upon the founding collection, the Institute has greatly expanded its holdings. While it continues to acquire in its traditional fields of strength, it has also begun to collect in complementary areas, such as photography.
In 2014 the museum opened the Clark Center, a facility designed by Tadao Ando to accommodate special exhibitions and other functions, along with expansions across its campus.
Want to add your own collection to the Artstor Digital Library? Learn how to contribute